The 12th Annual Short Short Story Film Festival

Box Logo A Different Kind of Day Bottle 3 Rounds The Typewriter Combo Logo Cowboy Joe Silence is not Golden Dua2litet The Survival of the Sexiest Box Logo Through the Marsh Another Sunny Day A Good Heart Scraps Combo Logo Light Blue Pinchpot Dandelion in the Wind Void Box Logo Fall Not Today Albino Monkey: Pepper Fish Shop Combo Logo Maelstrøm Pétanque 51 Specter Chai Box Logo Faust Recóndito Reviver Hounds Combo Logo Green World Sand Wanderer For Lorn Timbre Box Logo Guest Perforato Wine Wenches Stuck in the Middle
How do filmmakers tell a story in under six minutes?

We found out at the 12th annual Short Short Story Film Festival!

The Short Short Story Film Festival is a competitive international festival of films that tell a story in under six minutes, celebrating brevity in filmmaking with both live-action and animated films.

The festival has taken place every November since 2007, in Providence and other cities in the northeastern United States.

To learn more about the festival concept and history, click here.

Festival Details

A record thirty countries from six continents were represented for the 12th edition, with over two-thirds making their U.S. premieres, including several world premieres.

Culled from hundreds of submissions, two programs, Heartstrings and Headtrip, each showcased eighteen films, tightly sequenced in under ninety minutes, with each of the programs having a distinctive tone yet wide-ranging styles and topics.

Festival Awards

The audiences selected their favorite three films in each program. This year's winners are Not Today, a 2D animated comedy from Belgian animator Marine Jacob, and Reviver, a darkly comedic stop-motion film from Israeli duo Shalev Ben Elya and Renen Adar.

Additional jury awards and special directors awards will be announced in early December.

Saturday, November 24th
Providence, Rhode Island

at AS220's Main Stage


DJ Madame B spun world soundscapes before and between screenings, and during the dinner break.

SSSFF 2018 Heartstrings Jury Award

SF 18 Heartstrings Jury

A custom creation by Hannah Quinn

SSSFF 2018 Headtrip Jury Award

SF 18 Headtrip Jury

A custom creation by Szabolcs Nagy

SSSFF 2018 Headtrip Audience Award

SF 18 Headtrip Audience

A custom creation by Szabolcs Nagy

SSSFF 2018 Petit Prose Award

SF 18 Petit Prose Audience

A custom creation by Naomi van Niekerk